Heritage Owners Club

H150 "TALOS"

bocage44

Hi everyone! A few weeks ago I purchased a Heritage H150 from eBay that was apparently an employee build (It was one of four that Larry Perkins built for himself). There was a thread about it over in the Bay Watch section, and when I purchased the guitar, I wrote that I would follow up with my impressions.

First off, I must say that I'm very impressed with the build quality of this guitar - it's got a great top carve and the maple cap is pretty thick. The cavity shot below shows the pots and caps:

HeritageLPCavity.jpg

The guitar presently has Seth Lover pickups installed; although I've never used them before, I'd heard great things about them - at this juncture, I'm not entirely sure they're right for me, but I'll give them a few more months before I make decide whether to keep them of change them out.

One curious thing that was quickly apparent to me was the way that the saddles are notched. If you take a look at the photo below, you can see that the two E strings are set pretty far to the outside of the saddle piece. It doesn't seem to affect playability for me (I thought for sure that the strings would roll off of the fretboard), but alignment with the pole screws on both the neck and bridge pickup is pretty off. I've not seen this before - has anyone heard of a reason to do so in terms of performance? At any rate, I was thinking of going with an ABR bridge anyway, so the current one will mostly likely go....

HeritageSaddle.jpg

In terms of overall playability, the guitar is great! It has outstanding sustain and the neck feels good in my hand. The frets are nice and tall, so bending is really smooth. As an owner of 8 Les Pauls from the "Other Guys," I can say that this axe is guitar is easily on par with the reissues I own. I'm very happ with my purchase!

Here's a shot of "Talos" out in the sunshine yesterday. I really is a great looker!

HeritageLPFlame.jpg

Also here's a photo of another Heritage I own: