Heritage Owners Club

H-127

thierryt64

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to this board (just signed up yesterday), but I (ironically) may be one of the first Heritage Guitars players on here... let me explain  :)

I bought my 1986 H-127 Custom back in, well... 1986. Brand spanking new. And I still play it -- 100% original.

I'm attaching a pic of my baby and hopefully you can look at it.

I'm wondering if the Heritage * Gods* are reading this forum... and if so, could they let me know who built this beauty that I've been making love to for the last 22 years. Her serial number is C24502.

Let me know if you want to know more about our story...

h-127.jpg

h-127.jpg_thumb

Well, that's great, Thierry, since most topics here are about new and shiny Heritages and I think you are the second contributor (after me) to talk about a 127. I've had one too, but I passed it on to a friend. I liked the way it played and especially the neck was more than excellent. The Schaller pickups on my particular 127 were of the unwaxed type and produced a lot of feedback, so I couldn't really use it live. I did make one recording to demonstrate to the other HOC-members how nice it sounded (http://boomp3.com/listen/dm08fpv_p/heritage-127-plays-the-blues). Did you ever record yours? Let us hear it!

Looking at your 127 I noticed a difference (Heritage liked to vary with their older models). The Schallers on your 127 have no covers on 'em and most probably they are of the same kind as I have on my 162. I like them a lot better and never felt the need to replace them (and neither did you all those 22 years!). To me these humbuckers are a lot hotter than the nickel covered ones and they're probably waxed. I tried to find out what type the two Schaller varieties are, but noone could help me. Do you know what body wood is used on yours? It looks like maple (which should make the guitar a little heavy and the tone very bright and precise) - mine is mahogany.