Heritage Owners Club

Mmmarshall JMP MK II

buzzy

Mmmmulling some fund raising and the choice for a final item was between the PRS JA-15 or the Marshall 1987. A modded 4104 has spoiled me for convenience - I can flip a couple of switches and get either crazy good Marshall loud or immensely satisfying low volume tones. This JMP head needs to be plugged into a cab and, if I want to keep my name off of the police report, an attenuator - too much trouble. In addition, years ago, I sold the 8x10 and 4x12. I never realized how long I could put off rehousing the head and building a couple of cabs; (I have a Scumback 12" M75LDC, a couple Celestion G10S-50's and the 13 ply birch). The net, net of all this is a first world problem of playing it through the combo.

So much for the boring backstory.

I can't sell this amp. I've had it for +30 years. Sure, I have too many amps; yes, nvm 50 watts is more than I need; I even admit that I'll be too lazy to use it regularly until the cabs are built. But, I can't sell this amp.

Same story told many times. I needed to know it worked before I sold it. H157LE, curly cord, jumpered channels, volumes at 12 & 1 o'clock, attenuator at -9db and the 2 old T-100's in the combo. Mmmmmm! Chewy. Nothing else sounds like it. Nothing else feels like it. I know that the tunes in my head from my youth were probably made with Fender amps - it doesn't matter. Montrose, Foghat, Rory Gallagher, Nugent, FUN.