Heritage Owners Club

'69 Drip Edge...Now I Get It!

My local FedUp driver dropped this off a little while back. I had it tuned up by a local amp tech (New Matched JJ 6V6's, Switch, Caps, Resistor, grounded plug).

She's been around the block a few times, and has a few 'beauty marks', but the innards are solid...and now ready for another 47 years!

This is my first time playing through an old Princeton Drip Edge (non reverb) w/Emi.Legend 10" speaker. Just cranked it up. Whoa, what a tone!

Now I get it! :music_mini2:

v4zgK1.jpg

ST6yNU.jpg

Sweet.

I have to wonder how that one compares to the Champ II.

Champ II: 2 6V6 and 2 7025/12ax7's, plus a solid state rectifier for 18 watts.

Princeton: 2 6V6 and 2 12ax7's, and a GZ34 tube rectifier for 15 watts. It sounds bigger and more compressed than the Champ II, likely because of the GZ34 and larger cab.

But the Champ II get angrier (in a good way) due to its pull-out Mid-Boost. That's why I pulled the chassis and run it as a mini-head.

Nice snatch!

Cool thing about 5 volt rectifier tubes, you can swap them out and get different sounds out of the amp as a result. In 2 watt heater ratings that amp could run on 5v4, 5r4, or 5y3 as well. These are listed in order from slightly less oomph than the gz34/5ar4 to quite a bit less in the 5y3. That can help in voicing for one's choice of tones.

Nice snatch!

Cool thing about 5 volt rectifier tubes, you can swap them out and get different sounds out of the amp as a result. In 2 watt heater ratings that amp could run on 5v4, 5r4, or 5y3 as well. These are listed in order from slightly less oomph than the gz34/5ar4 to quite a bit less in the 5y3. That can help in voicing for one's choice of tones.

@212Mavguy: I always learn something new from your amp posts! Thanks.

Champ II: 2 6V6 and 2 7025/12ax7's, plus a solid state rectifier for 18 watts.