Heritage Owners Club

59s vs Seth Lovers

LittleLeroy

I got my first Heritage on March 1, a 2014 H535 with Seth Lover pups. I've been playing Gibsons since 1964 and finally decided, after reading and researching the Heritage stuff, to try one. It's totally awesome and I'm totally in love with the feel and the tone. I was never a fan of the Duncan pups - used mostly Gibson or Dimarzio, but the Seth Lovers with this guitar are fantastic and I feel like I've found a tone I've only found in a 1959 ES-335 with PAFs.

I could rave on, but the point of this post is now I'm looking for another, in a Cherry finish. But all I've seen for sale are newer ones that have a Duncan 59 in the Neck, with a SL in the bridge, or two 59s. So I would appreciate hearing from people with first-hand experience who can comment on the samenesses or differences between the Duncan 59s and Seth Lovers.

What I love about the SL in the neck on my guitar is the clarity and top end presence. It comes so close to a great P-90 or an honest PAF; just a wonderful, sweet tone in the neck and middle positions. Am I gonna get that from a 59 in the neck?

Thanks in advance for sharing your thoughts and experiences.

~ Little Leroy ~

front2.jpg

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've had H535's with pretty much every pick up configuration that you've mentioned here......all they all sounded great!

One of the benefits of the SD 59 is that it's potted so playing at higher stages of gain and volume can be done without any feedback.

Whatever the case.....you can't go wrong.

Welcome to the Heritage party!

I've also had both but in solid bodies. In fact they are still in my two 150's. One has Seth's and one has 59's. I love both for different reasons. For me the SL is sweeter and the 59 is a little more aggressive though not rude. Just a little more punch. Having 535's with each seems a great spread of tones.