Heritage Owners Club

The infamous Frank-en-Champ goes under the iron...again

This amp started out with me as a low cost purchase from a friend in barely operating condition for very little cash around 8-10 years ago. I was very early in my tube lore learning, and I got to put this amp's chassis on a spare work bench at my amp tech friend's shop. There I learned what was wrong and smelled the solder fumes for the first time repairing it under my friend's guidance. First time I got to smell those since my childhood slot car hobby, which I participated to the level of rewinding my own motors for waaaaay more speed.

So since then it has slowly been repaired, repeatedly upgraded, and modded to what has been for the last few years... a very potent grab and go wolf in 70's silverface sheep's clothing. it is also pretty ugly inside because it's the first amp I ever rebuilt, it sounds great, nice parts in it. Too ugly for pics. It IS my first build.

In it's present it has a fiberglass turret board personally populated and installed in blackface style. Power supply caps are slightly higher value than stock. Both trannys have been replaced with more robust ones. particularly the output tranny, now larger than the power tranny, it's a 6-7 pound hifi unit mounted with t-nuts to the bottom corner of the cab, presently wired at 16 ohms. Stock was a walnut sized witto bitty baby chunk with 3.2 ohm output.

It uses a vintage, rated 8-16 ohm 25 watt, original cone University Diffusicone 8 inch speaker now, and oh so huge and sweet sounding instead of the lower quality construction and output rating Jensen with the torn cone and warped frame it came with.