Heritage Owners Club

NGD - In praise of the underrated H140s

Cajun2

My H140 just arrived - winning bid on eBay last week (some of you were probably watching the guitar). All I can say is WOW....

Not to offend any of you - but H140s always seem underrated. They are referred to the "little brother" of the 150s. I say they stand up against any guitar out there. First - let me share my Heritage journey intertwined with my guitar journey to list my credentials:

I started playing in the 70s (I am 54). Back then everyone wanted new guitars, and you could what are now vintage collectibles for cheap. I had a pre-CBX Jazzmaster I bought for $75. I owned a 60s strat, a 60s SG with Maestro Vibrola, and then a Les Paul Special. I hung on to the Special for a while and liked that guitar, then later traded it in for a Gold Top.

Flash forward to the future. In the early nineties, I was in Vancouver with my girlfriend on vacation. We walked past a music store, and I decided to pop in. I came across a used H140 with a Gold Top. It had Duncans installed (a 50 and an Alnico 2 neck). I was floored by the quality and the price (around $300). I grabbed it, even though I wasn't really looking for a guitar. That was my first Heritage guitar...

In the late 2000s, I decided I liked acquiring guitars as much as I did playing them, although I have never owned more than 8 guitars at once (if one comes in, one goes out). I have owned probably between 130 - 150 guitars, including the better ones - all kinds of Heritage, PRS, Fender, Gibson, Tom Anderson, Suhr, one off luthier builds, Don Grosh, etc... In that time I have owned my first H140, 2 really nice H150s, 2 really nice H535s, a H170, a Stat, A H157, and now back to a H140 (full circle for my Heritage guitars). as