Heritage Owners Club

Random questions (related to learning about my 1984 H-140)

VickyFl

For those that aren't already well aware, from my first post "Value of my guitar?", I need to tell you I'm a newbie. Both here and in ALL things guitar. In my quest to learn more about what makes my guitar tick so to speak, and in my attempt to gain more guitar knowledge in general, I already have a question. 

(For the record... before I ask questions here I have likely already Googled extensively. Obviously I struck out because here I am. Heh) 

I wanted to learn more about the Schaller humbucker bridge. I Googled that and then clicked on the video. One of the first things outta the guys mouth is "this Schaller Hannes bridge..... " So, next thing I know I've spent almost 40 minutes Googling as I try to find out the difference. Lol I can see from the images they look different, but beyond that I found nothing that tells me if there is a difference and what that may be. I assume there is because otherwise why aren't they still calling it a humbucker. Are they different in how they work, or what they do? I really don't desire specific info on the Hannes if they are different, (unless you think it's important to my general knowledge) but if they are different what makes a humbucker a humbucker? 

If you already know the anatomy of guitar parts, please excuse my simple answers...

there are multiple parts on your guitar made by Schaller.

First you have the pickups.  These are magnets surrounded by copper wire and pole pieces.  In Heritage guitars, there are usually 2 larger pickups called Humbuckers.

The one closest to the fretboard is referred at the neck pickup or neck humbucker.

The metal part the strings rest across is the bridge.

The closest pickup to the is called the bridge pickup or bridge humbucker.

On your guitar, you have Humbuckers made by Schaller and a bridge by Schaller.  Often known as a Schaller rolling bridge.