Heritage Owners Club

H335 string gauge and action

Paul P

Hi all,

I'd like to hear from those of you who have H335's about what string gauge you use on it and

what your action is like.  I've read recommendations for action around 5/64ths (2mm) for the

low E and 4/64th  (1.6mm) for the high E, and others seem to go even lower than that.  I

currently have D'Addario XL - EJ21 - 52-12 strings on my H335 and can't seem to go quite

that low without some buzzing.  The buzzing appears to always be happening on the next fret

towards the bridge.  I have some experience with setups and the rest of the guitar seems to

be set within reason.  The neck relief is currently a bit less than 1/32" (.8mm).

Thanks,

Paul P

High Paul,

Well I use 10-46 D'Addarios on my H-535s.  My action is Just a tad under 4/64" on the high E and a tad over 4/64" on the low E with now buzzing, both of mine have been pleked.  If you have an older 535 that wasn't pleked, you will most likely need to have a fret dress done on the guitar to get it to play it's best.  As good as the plek machine is, I still think a competent luthier is better and have had a number of luthiers who could match, or better a plek set up. 

Bob

Paul-

I use GHS Nickel Rocker's (10's), since they are almost roundwounds, they are quite stiff. I set the string height at 2mm from bottom of the string to the fret at the 12th fret and 1.2mm on the treble side. I also adjust the neck for .001in. at the 8th fret on the low E. I use a heavy pick, play hard and play a lot of slide. That setup works fine for me. Give it a try. Ace

I use GHS Nickel Rocker's (10's), since they are almost roundwounds, they are quite stiff. I set the string height at 2mm from bottom of the string to the fret at the 12th fret and 1.2mm on the treble side. I also adjust the neck for .001in. at the 8th fret on the low E. I use a heavy pick, play hard and play a lot of slide. That setup works fine for me. Give it a try. Ace