Heritage Owners Club

Newbie Here

slider313

Just saying hi and proud to be a member of this group. I've had my H140CM since '88. I custom ordered it in late '87 with the followind appointments: Pearl block inlay and headstock logo, single ply bound neck and headstock and I asked for a real nice flamed top to compliment the guitar. There was no upcharge for the top. I've had many a guitar come and go since, but this is and always will be my baby.

speakers 282 (2).jpg

speakers 282 (2).jpg_thumb

Looks killer!

How is it holding up after almost 20 years? Has it needed any major repairs?

I have had no repairs to this guitar. I did swap out the pickups for Duncan '59's, which I had in for most of it life. I recently installed a Nashville tune-a-matic and stop tail and a set of Peter Florance voodoo '59's. It has the original frets, pots and grover tuners and all it ever needed was neck adjustments; which I do when the weather changes.

Hey hey hey!

I also swapped the SD'59's for Voodoo'59's

I'm still torn apart.....

It seems to me that the overall sound is more balanced but the output is slightly less.

The neck-PU is very dynamic....a bit too much for me.

When I play clean I really need a good compressor.

I'm still not sure whether I keep them or not.

Vinni

Vinni,

I like the Voodoo '59's, but I'm also torn because I am so used to the Duncan pickups. I find the difference is the Duncans are tighter, clearer and have more note seperation; and are waxed potted. The Voodoo p/u's have more of that PAF character; the notes on chords bleed into each other more and have an "open" sound. I find if I tap on the Voodoo p/u's, they are slightly microphonic. I think that's what's part of their PAF tone; no potting.

I'm going to leave them in for a while and work with them. I can always go back to the Duncans.

Mike