Heritage Owners Club

Looks like Axe II can do everthing Kemper can do...

Kuz

I have no first hand knowledge. Here is a copy to a link on TGP saying that the AXE II soon will not only be able to profile amps, but also PROFILE guitar tones off your favorite CD!!!!

Read for yourself and make up your own mind....

http://www.thegearpage.net/board/showthread.php?t=1036353

There was another thread (probably several) on TGP about this. I recently bought an Axe-FX ultra used, and the jury is still out for me. Yes it sounds great and I can see it's usefulness for recording. But for live work without dropping another 6-7 bills for the foot controller I just don't see how you could use it. The danged interface could be the deal breaker for me. I'm trying to give it some time and hopefully will get used to Axe Edit, but right now I feel the way I've felt with so many digital processors before this - the interface sucks and I'm paying for allot of stuff I'll never use.

I will say I had about 15 - 20 minutes with the Kemper at the NAMM show (found the booth about 20 minutes before the show was over). I found it's interface a little easier to navigate and it's models a little more to my liking - less space bleeps and flaying saucer noises and more straight amps sims. That said, I can't help but feel theres more to the Axe-FX than the Kemper. How many effects does the Kemper model? Is there something akin to Axe Edit available yet? What about inputs/outputs?

These things are just going to keep getting better and better and more powerful and hopefully at some point easier to use. One of my challenges with processors like this is, is that like with PCs, what is cool and state of the art today is an antique dinosaur in 5 years (if it even takes that long).

But for live work without dropping another 6-7 bills for the foot controller I just don't see how you could use it. The danged interface could be the deal breaker for me.