Heritage Owners Club

Schaller roller bridge & Stoptail combo

davesultra

To those who have experience with these, how are they? My '02 Ultra (along with every "G brand" guitar I've owned over the years) has the traditional Nashville TOM and Stoptail set-up, so I'm used to those. I should be receiving a used '99 H-150CM in a few days and it has the Schaller stuff on it. What can I expext out of that hardware, as I've never used it (Schaller) before? Thanks in advance.

I like em. They're adjustable back and forth for intonation and side to side for string spacing. I've yet to break a string on the roller setup.  Jay Wolfe says that the schaller has less sustain than the Nashville and thats true but I personally don't think it's that much.  You'll have both so you can A-B em when you get your latest addition.

I forgot to add that I don't like the Schaller tailpiece. I always switch those out to the conventional ones. They're pretty easy to change strings with but the string holders can swing down and scratch the finish if they're set to low.

I ran into the Schaller bridge and stoptail on my recently acquired old H127. Since I have not A-B'd them with anything else I don't know if they're that much different from your average Gotoh stuff. Both the bridge and the stoptail look brilliant and sturdy. It was much easier to screw in the stop tail all the way down onto the body without having the strings touch the back of the bridge (where they would lose tone) than with my two Gotoh systems. Heritage have used this Schaller hardware for centuries, so I cannot believe it would be off less quality. And remember, it is German manufacturing and these guys have a certain reputation for excellent metal work.

Check http://www.jacquesguitars.com/Heritage127_English.html for a couple of detailed pics.

Oh..and never no string holder problems on my tailpiece like with mr. Golferwave's, so maybe he had a different one?