Heritage Owners Club

100% nitro old school? or added plasticizers ?

loaded six string

Interesting that this topic would crop up. I was just going to post something similar. My Eric Johnson Strat is finished in nitro. That was one of the big selling points for that guitar. A common disclaimer was that the neck would be sticky because of the nitro, but in time would wear smoother and become extremely "fast". I've been playing that guitar for almost 2 years and the neck is still a bit sticky. Some EJ players have resorted to sanding the neck.

However, none of my Heritages have sticky necks. The new Millie plays quite well, with none of the "nitro issues" I have on the EJ neck. I was going to ask if there were different types of nitro. But maybe this explains something. The finish on the necks of the two brands, altho' both say nitro, feel completely different; and react quite differently.

Interesting that this topic would crop up. I was just going to post something similar. My Eric Johnson Strat is finished in nitro. That was one of the big selling points for that guitar. A common disclaimer was that the neck would be sticky because of the nitro, but in time would wear smoother and become extremely "fast". I've been playing that guitar for almost 2 years and the neck is still a bit sticky. Some EJ players have resorted to sanding the neck.

However, none of my Heritages have sticky necks. The new Millie plays quite well, with none of the "nitro issues" I have on the EJ neck. I was going to ask if there were different types of nitro. But maybe this explains something. The finish on the necks of the two brands, altho' both say nitro, feel completely different; and react quite differently.