Heritage Owners Club

"True" vs. "Non-true bypass" switching

I built a COT out of spare parts the other day and used a dpdt swith instead of a 3pdt. I had planned on wiring it with no LED then I saw these on GGG.

http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/how-to-build-it/technical-help/switching-and-wiring/bypass-sw-options/

I used the input unbypassed wiring. It seems to work fine and not effect my tone while it's off so my question is if this works why bother with a 3pdt switch? This was eaisier to wire and seems like dpdt switches are cheaper. Sorry if the answer is obvious but I am still an amateur pedal builder.

Easiest answer is the one you've already given yourself - Since it is not effecting your tone, or at least not that you've noticed, then it doesn't matter.

If you study the wiring diagrams, you can see that in the non-true bypass with DPDT switch the effects circuit is in parallel with your signal path - so even with the effect off, it is going to technically still have some impact to the signal; with a 3PDT, the signal path is on its own pair of poles, so when the switch is off, it is bypassing everything else in the box.

You're probably not experiencing any appreciable amount of the dreaded "tone suckage" (i.e. treble frequency loss) because that pedal has a high enough input impedance that it's not loading your pickups down even though the circuit remains in parallel with your signal path when the switch is off. If the pedal had a low input impedance, like the original late '60s wah pedals to use the most famous example, your experience might be much different.