Heritage Owners Club

Pickup adjustment

Salutemysolution

O.K I've seen this mentioned on here a few times. How exactly does adjusting the pickup height affect the overall sound of a guitar? I've thought about trying it but would rather have an idea what effect it will have first.

I'm no expert, but I've played with this alot trying to get a sound I liked out of the Schallers that came with my 157.

UP, or Closer to the strings means louder, deeper, fuller sound. To the point where it gets just plain muddy.

Down, or further from the strings mean quieter, thinner, more tinny sound. To the point where the pickup comes off the mounting screw and falls into the body cavity and where you start to swear and curse cause now you've got to pull things apart to get it back right again :)

There is also supposed to be a science associated with adjusting the pickup poles, but I have no idea about how to do that right.. Just trust your ear.

In my early attempts to do this, I had the pickups too close to the strings and subsequently could not intone the guitar.  There comes a point where the poles interfere with the tune of the string.  That took me a long time to figure out - Merry Christmas!

Guitar, plugged into a clean amp, set at moderate volume, and all the amp tone controls on"5," + ear + trial and error with p'up height (then across all six strings' pole screws, if you like) = what you're looking for. 

I tend to keep pole screws just barely above flush with the cover, and I don't monkey with them much.  Most of my adjustment involves the pickup only.  And as everyone has cautioned, not too close to the strings, for a variety of reasons, not the least of which is the p'up magnet's effect on string vibration and intonation.

Pup's are nothin' but microphones, and they work/behave just like any other type of mike.