Heritage Owners Club

amp guys help please

big bob

So I've been cleaning up the sound city and I noticed it has a strange mod, which I have no Idea what it does.. Don't get me wrong, the amp sounds and works great.. just wondering what it does?

because I have no amp experience please excuse my lack of technical jargon. I know the amp has been moded because of the alteration to the chassis. there is a large blue/green box that has been added to the works looks like this ampmod003.jpg?t=1295586850

anyone have any Idea what it does?

ampmod002.jpg?t=1295586913

this is all I have ben able to find on line

http://www.vintageamps.com/plexiboard/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=84673

looks like the same deal..

any thoughts are appreciated ..

I'm no expert either but that makes sense, and is exactly what the guys on plexipalace concluded: a 600v oil filled cap

you may want to post there too, someone could probably even tell you who installed it!! there is a large community of tech enthusiasts over there

I think it is a GPS device from Bob's "Big Brother" to spy on Heritage guitar lovers. Probably, a Gibson tech put it in there. I'm just guessing.

filter capacitors regulate the power supply in an amp

it probably doesn't have *much* effect on the overall sound, unlike the capacitors & resistor values in the tone circuit etc

I doubt it was a "tone" mod, probably a utilitarian part to replace something, or maybe they even used them for a while when they built them

although power supply mods can affect how an amp sags etc when it is run full tilt, and can affect the bass response etc

and that's about all I know on that subject!!

I found this as well, but pardon my ignorance as I don't read circuits hardly at all, could this be what was done

noise_reduction_mod.jpg

Could be the unlabeled cap in the schematic but it is too hard to say from a distance