Heritage Owners Club

New amp coming: Evans JE200

MartyGrass

I have no experience with it, but a friend strongly recommended it.

Personally I'm most comfortable with amps that have few dials. I'm a Fender guy. I've mostly adjusted to Henriksen, which is completely different.

So take a look at how this amp is adjusted!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KWfigjtuSf8&feature=player_embedded

Evans are supposed to be THE solid state jazz amp. I was very close to pulling the trigger on one, but no funds. If I do get a SS jazz amp (currently very comfortable with my '67 Vibrolux & Carr Rambler), Evans will be my first choice.

The only negatives I have heard is the reverb is digital and that the control are not very intuitive. I guess it take a while to dial in the tone.

Please give us a full tone report when you get the amp.

I am the worst at evaluating an amp. Simple is best in my book.

I have a Henriksen with digital reverb. That surprisingly sounds really good. up to moderate levels. I never go beyond that, so I couldn't comment on high levels.

I'll do the best I can with a report on the Evans. I pick it up at a bar today. The seller is having his work Christmas party there. Whoo hoo!

Guy I play with regularly at jams has both the RE and the JE. He plays his vintage 175 through them, and he always has the tone. He's played for a living forever, and has used his Evans amps for a long, long time. He swears by them! I've played my P-90 Super Eagle through the RE a couple of times, at his gigs. I have to have a little bit of 'verb...always. But the first time I played Ray's, he didn't have it on, as he doesn't use it. The tone was so sweet, I never missed it. Evans...little package, big tone!