Heritage Owners Club

Looking for a cleaner neck pickup tone

SlappyTappy

Guitar currently has 2 Duncan 59s. I love the bridge pickup tone, wouldn't ask for anything different. The neck is a little too creamy/bassy for my tastes. I can't lower it any more because of those darned long-legs. Guitar also has the 50s wiring mod which helped overall but I'm considering a swap.

I'd like to stay in the Seymour Duncan realm and the vintage PAF territory. I've already tried Alnico II Pros in this guitar and the result was way too dark. I guess that leaves the Pearly Gates, Seth Lover, and new Whole Lotta Humbucker. None of which I've ever personally played, and I'm usually pretty leery of buying things I've no experience with but Duncan usually makes a quality product and if anybody has some personal playing experience here I'd love to hear some input.

Looking for something cleaner with more attack, like a humbucker version of a Strat neck pickup.

I had a similar issue with the Burstbucker Pros in my 150.

Step one was to remove a little more wood from beneath the pickup leg area. This is a straightforward job with an electric drill and a chisel. I only needed to remove a few millimetres of wood to drop the pickup where I wanted it.

Step two, when I determined I still needed a little more of the higher frequencies coming through, was to swap the stock .022 cap for that pickup to a .015. That cleaned up the sound to where I wanted it.

Caps, etc, cost little in comparison to pickups. Experiment with things at the cheaper end first, it'll save you money.

My 150 has Pearly Gates, bought it used and the sound was too thin for my taste, pickups were set low so I cranked them up closer to the strings, fattened it up nicely. Maybe that pickup might suit your needs more.

The '59s do sound fuller, I have them in a 535 and a Hamer Studio, and I like the bigger tone in the neck.