Heritage Owners Club

New member and also proud new owner of a H-150 CM -some questions, comments etc.

Kazwell

As I stated I am new to the site, and have recently purchased a H-150 CM off of E-Bay after hearing some great things about them from a local shop here in St. Louis.

Many of you probably saw the guitar- it was sold out of a shop in Las Vegas- Translucent Amber-I picked it up for 1299 plus 40 dollars shipping.

Evidently no one bid against me. Guess the finish isn't the most popular. I have been playing for over thirty years. and have owned my share of quality gutars with just about every fisnish you can name with the exception of blue. The more natural looking finishes seem to appeal to me more. I really like the light sunburst Heritage does, however, I don't like the shade of cherry red they used on the backs of them. I guess, when it comes down to it, as a player, you spend more time looking down at the neck and top of the guitar than the front anyway, so I feel it is just as or more important even to be satisfied with the finish they use on the back of a guitar.

At first I was interested in the Gibson Les Paul VOS 1960, but was shocked to hear Gibson uses "pearloid" on their fret markers. Own a refurb  Gibson 1959 ES 355 (not orginal pickups, or wiring, Bigsby replaced with stop tailpiece so it's value currently is ironically around the same price of a new Custom shop version.) I know as a fact the neck had real MOP markers. Still can't understand how they get away with saying these are original specs on the re-issued models when they use different materials.

One thing I noticed when recieving my new H-150 was that the MOP work seemed a little sloppy. Maybe I am being picky, but one major reason I went with Heritage over Gibson was the fact that they stick to the real specs (with exception of shape due to legal reasons). Wolf music seems to really push the MOP fact on there website I noticed, so it isn't just a minor detail.