Heritage Owners Club

Recommendations needed for new amp purchase

Hfan

I'm in the market for a brand new low wattage (15-20Watts with one 12" speaker should be fine) tube amp combo that is not too large. I would like something reliable that I can just power up and use. I currently have an old Fender Twin and a modded Blues Junior that are both "works in progress"..I may wind up modding/tinkering with them, when I can find time, for the foreseeable future.

I'm a home hobbyist and play a lot of blues, some funk, southern rock etc and would like an amp with decent reverb that will break up nicely (crunchy blues tone) , without too much volume. Price is an issue, I'd like to keep it somewhere around $500 or a little more, maybe $700, maximum. Anything out there that is all tube circuitry at this price point? If not I'm open to suggestions. I've been out of the loop regarding amps besides the few amps I knew back in the 70's, now there seem to be countless choices out there; I don't know where to start. If I could narrow down my options somewhat I could look for local examples in my area.

Thanks in advance.

I know you said you didn't want to go over 20 watts, but I've heard good things about these:

Peavey Delta Blues 115--about $650 street price; 49 lbs. Also available as a 210. Made in the USA!

From their website: "Classic style, classic tone and modern versatility. If the blues is your way of life, this is your amp. 30 classic all-tube watts are way louder than solid state and modern flexibility comes from a tremolo with speed and intensity controls, pre-and post-gain controls on the lead channel, 3-band passive EQ, a boost switch, external speaker jack, and an effects loop. Jamming or gigging, this baby can hold down your end of the sound."

FEATURES:

* 30 watts into 16 or 8 ohms

* All-tube (three 12AX7 and four EL84 tubes)

* 2-channel preamp

* One 15 inch Blue Marvel® speaker

* Tremolo with speed and intensity