Heritage Owners Club

Gibson or Heritage?

CrazyWolf

Hello,

I am new to this thread and I need your valued assistance.

I would like to buy a new Les Paul guitar and I finally can afford a high end one.

This might be a common question, but please enlighten me on the choice between a Historic Gibson Les Paul 58 or 59 and a Heritage H-150.

Please note that I am located in Greece, where there is no choice of Heritage guitars to try.

Any opinion, comment, suggestion would be of great value.

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome to the HOC!

Well I don't know where to begin, because there are so many points.

I bought a used H150 which I never played before but had the option to give it back if I didn't like it.

Let me tell you this: this guitar will stay with me till the end of my days!!! It's the best LP I have ever played.

Heritages are all truly handmade guitars, produced at the old Gibson factory at Kalamazoo.

Heritage was found by former Gibson employees which stayed at Kalamazoo when Gibson moved to Nashville.

They mostly still use the old Gibson machines and tools. They built the guitars just like in the old days. And you can actually feel it and hear it.

Even if you buy a Gibson Reissue today it's not a truly handmade guitar. It's a mass production guitar nowadays.

There are people who say that if you wanna buy a "59" LP today buy a Heritage! (Actually I'm one of those people)

Also consider the price. You get a knew H150 for half the price you would pay for a Gibson Historic.

I am from Germany and found my H150 online in a guitar shop. I was lucky, because used ones are very seldom.

Sometimes a used H150 appears at Ebay. Just be patient and search all the european Ebay sites.

If you wanna buy a knew one I can recommend Realguitars from Germany.