Heritage Owners Club

Strap button won't stay tight

Heririck

Hello

I'm new to this sight. I have an H-150 Ultra (Vintage sunburst or antique sunburst?) that I special ordered from Guitar-X in Denver a few years ago. Unfortunately, Guitar-X is no longer with us but I love my Heritage. Only problem is the screw keeps coming loose on the strap button. I figure a squirt of Gorilla glue will fix it ,but is that a proper repair? What would a guitar tech. do? I know, this thread is useless without pics. Will comply soon. Thanks!

I would recommend either a larger screw, but just enough bigger to allow the threads to bite into the hole, or use some wood glue and shavings from a match to plug the hole and then redrill. 

My buddy's 150 had this problem and we just shot a touch of glue into the hole and put the screw back in.  I wished we had done a better job on it but he didn't want to mess with it. 

There are more qualified people on this board to guide you than myself and they can get into more detail. 

Welcome to the HOC.  Hide your wallet.  People usually end up with more guitars after a few months at this place.  :wink:

Here's an easy fix that worked for me.

Get a toothpick and jam it in the hole. Cut the the toothpick so it is above the hole slightly (sticking out).

Now set the strap botton on and tighten.

I have done this on 2 Heritage strap buttons and on one I think I had to do the same procedure twice, but they are firmly anchored now.

glue a tooth pick in the hole with wood glue or super glue.

let it set.

Then screw it back in.

I wouldn't "glue" the screw directly in the hole. (that sounds pretty funny)

Tip: this works for loose door hinges and other such things as well (use stronger woold than a tooth pick)

Bonus tip(s): put bees wax on the threads of screws before screwing them back in (makes them go in nice and smooth).