Heritage Owners Club

If I wanted a 1959 Les Paul, but would rather own a Heritage..

daiku

I am a newbie to Heritage, still looking to acquire one, so please be gentle. If I wanted the famous holy grail of Gibson instruments, but couldn't afford the million dollars or whatever ridiculous sums they are asking, what should I get as a Heritage instrument? I really don't like Gibson as a company anymore, so I have no interest in spending some ridiculous money for an instrument of low quality control.

What I am really after is a guitar like Mr. Page or Clapton would have used back in the day, but with great sustain. If you were to assemble such a thing, what would you get, or what would be close to that? A stock Heritage H 150? a 157? would it be more cost effective to order a stock instrument and change out the PU's? Would you order a custom from Heritage? a Alex Skolnick?

For those who are more familiar with Les Paul's than I, how would you approach this? I know lot's of folks here are Jazz oriented, and I have seen some of those beautiful axes, but rock and blues is my interest.

thanks for your help, and looking forward to buying a quality instrument made by Heritage. Looking forward to your responses.

• Replies 68
  • Created
  • Last Reply