Heritage Owners Club

Scale Length and Tone

DetroitBlues

Between 6StringJazz, Kuz, and myself, there is a debate :argue: about the tone of an archtop/hollowbody/semi-hollow body guitar relative to its scale length. Now I may be a little biased because I'm a rock and blues guitarist, not a jazz player. On my Strat, Dot (535 like), SG, and 140, I found my tone to be rather similar, mostly because I compensate with pedals/amp settings. However, both of 6string and Kuz, have firmly stated that there is a definite tone difference when playing a shorter scale archtop like a 575 and a longer scale 550. Can anyone put together, some comparison videos (for those fortunate enough to have guitars of this caliber)? Preferably guitars two full hollow bodies. Anyone else have their own opinion of the matter? :unknw_mini::dontknow::icon_scratch:

Yes, I could do that... but honestly if you can't hear the difference between a Strat and a Semi, or a Strat and a 140, then I don't see the point.

You really can't hear the differences in tone between those???

Also add Will to the team with hearing!!! LOL, he said there was a difference as well.

In all fairness, Kuz, he's asking for a comparison between a 575 and a 550.

The difference between a 140 and a Strat is obvious but the woods, construction, etc are hugely different.

To nail it for certain, I'd like to hear two guitars of identical construction except for the scale length. I'm pretty sure I read on the HOC once that someone had a 25.5 535 built. How about that, strung with the same strings and played by the same person, up against a 24.75 535?

But that is the point.... everything adds up; scale length, pickups, bolt on vs set neck, ect... and manufactures use different wood (alder & ash) based on scale length and the type of neck (bolt on or set neck) because they know the tone it will generate.