Heritage Owners Club

"Finger Ease" spray & nitro finish

peacemaker

Some people think this stuff is junk & make fun of me, but on my other guitars I've found it really keeps my strings feeling fresh, especially during long practice/playing sessions. I'm new to nitro finish care & a little paranoid about putting this stuff on my Heritage. I usually spray the strings and the back of the neck...and you really can't avoid getting some on the body of the guitar either. Is it safe on nitro?

I don't know if it is safe for nitro or not. When I used this product I sprayed it on a rag and then wiped the strings. I now use the GHS pretreated string cloth, that for $4 is the single greatest invention for keeping strings feeling like new. Wipe with the GHS rag before and after playing and the strings are good for MONTHS!!!!

As for the back of the neck, i use virtuoso polish. The neck is then super slick and fast.

I like Finger Ease and use the product regularly on my Heritages and any of my guitars. It keeps the strings nice and lubed. I will spray it directly on the fretboard and I also spray it on a rag and go under the strings with it to clean the gunk, using an up and down motion with the rag held taugtly (is that a word?) when I'm doing the maintenence cleaning.

At the factory, Ren actually likes to spray new strings with WD40 when restringing.

I don't spray Fingerease on the back of the neck, that is interesting, never thought of it. I keep a rag that has a drop of Lemon Oil on it nearby as well as the can of FingerEase, the rag to wipe the back of the neck with.

A can of fingerease is a good stocking stuffer for guitarists at holiday time..

I should add, that, with regard to protecting a nitro finish, that you WILL want to avoid the DEET in mosquito spray. So watch it on those outdoor jams this spring and summer. Take the poly finish guitars out to the campout jam.

B)