Heritage Owners Club

Traynor Amps?

Has anyone tried or owned a Traynor amp? I've seen a few of them rather cheap lately and wondering why they are so cheap. 40watt all tube for $300 is rather cheap. Made in Canada too...

And to those "who heard good things about them", great. Doesn't help me though... :P

Guest HRB853370

Has anyone tried or owned a Traynor amp? I've seen a few of them rather cheap lately and wondering why they are so cheap. 40watt all tube for $300 is rather cheap. Made in Canada too...

And to those "who heard good things about them", great. Doesn't help me though... :P

Doesn't Fender own the brand name now?

There seem to be at least three flavors of Traynor amps:

1. The tube amps from the 60's and early 70's (for example: YBA1 Bassmaster): absolute BEASTS. Very desireable.

2. The solid state amps from the 70's and 80's: less desireable. (disclaimer: I have no direct experience with this type.)

3. The tube amps from the last 10 years or so (for example: YCVxx series): good bang for the buck. Use printed circuit boards instead of point-to-point wiring, but quality of materials and construction is quite acceptable. You will likely want to replace the factory tubes with something better. Lots around on the used market.

I had one of the very early tube amps in my misguided youth. Wish I still had it. (and my youth too.) Loud enough to lift the roof off the house and turn my dad's hair gray overnight.

Also had one of the recent YCV amps (2xEL84). Never thought it had quite enough bottom end for my tastes; sold it and replaced it with a blackfaced Vibrolux Reverb, which suits me perfectly.

Bottom line: if you do your research and know exactly what you're looking for, you can get a very good amp for a reasonable price. I think that's true both for new and used.