Heritage Owners Club

H-535 with soapbar vs H-530

nachogrande

I am considering to buy another Heritage (hollow or semi hollow) which probably will contain p90 soapbars. (Although I need some time to raise the moneyfor sure) Meanwhile, I' d like to hear your precious experiences and advices about H-535 with soapbars and H-530. Of course Phat Cats with H-535 is another option, but I have never tried those pups before. The tones I expect are warm and suitable to blues, classic rock'n roll and rockabilly while it could help to cranck the amp up when it is needed. Please enlighten me :o

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,

NG

nacho,

I have PhatCats in my semi Prospect Custom. They are warm, articulate, ballsy and phat. Surprisingly (to me) they are much closer to humbuckers than they are to single coils - if one had to make a comparison. They definitely give a much more pronounced and distinct note; clearer might be a better way to describe it. Yet they dirty up quite well, while still retaining good note definite. I had gone with the PhatCats in case I wanted to swap for humbuckers. That won't happen, they're staying in the guitar. I'd say they're quite good for the music genre's you've listed. FYI, both Lollar and Fralin make their own versions of 'bucker sized P90-ish pickups. Might consider those, as well. No experience with the H530.

...I have never tried those pups before. The tones I expect are warm and suitable to blues, classic rock'n roll and rockabilly while it could help to cranck the amp up when it is needed. Please enlighten me :o