Heritage Owners Club

My H-150 Gets a Makeover

ExNihilo

Hello Everyone,

This is my first post. I am new here and I just bought my first Heritage guitar a week ago. Being a luthier, I have built several LP replicas, but wanted to get a Heritage for some time. Well, I bought my first one and love it. The only things I did not like were the finish, the hardware, and the headstock.

I sincerely hope that this post does not offend anyone. I certainly do not want to do that. I LOVE my H-150!

Here are some pictures showing the process of the makeover:

Here is the original finish:

H01.jpg?t=1289903946

H03.jpg?t=1289903979

H05.jpg?t=1289904009

Finish removed and the carve reshaped:

H08.jpg?t=1289904082

New headstock ears cut and a holly veneer applied:

H10.jpg?t=1289904169

H11.jpg?t=1289904203

H12.jpg?t=1289904240

Vintage correct grain filled mahogany and an aniline burst sprayed (so it will fade like a vintage burst):

059.jpg?t=1289904349

060.jpg?t=1289904378

003-1.jpg?t=1289904404

You can see more about this makeover at the Luthier's Corner Forum on MLP:

My link

Again, I hope this does not upset anyone.

Sincerely, Scott

• Replies 300
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I don't think it will upset anyone at all. Lots of folks on here customize their guitars, you're just going a good bit further than most of us could ever do. It's like customizing a car. Some people put on new wheels, some chop the top!

Interesting approach. The headstock aside (I like Heritage design, especially when its bound) it looks good. You've got a really nice color blend on it. I assume you are using a good NC lacquer. :icon_thumright:

Be sure to post the final pics in the gallery when you get finished.

I can certainly admire and applaud your skill and craftsmanship, but I do sort of have mixed feelings on the headstock change.

To me, the Heritage headstock is a symbol of Heritage, one that I happen to greatly admire ^_^