Heritage Owners Club

Amp recommendations for H-555

rookie

Hello,

I placed an order for an H-555 and was wondering if you had any recommendations for the type of amp I should get.

I am a rookie guitar player and currently live in an apartment. Looks like tubes is the way to go.

I am making a big investment with the guitar and want to make sure I get the same quality for my amp.

I am currently looking at the Orange Tiny terror combo, is there any other model I should consider?

Thanks a lot.

Rookie

Tiny Terror is a sweet amp. I find myself always drawn to those at the music store, but the real question to ask is what style of music are you playing? Living in an apartment, doesn't leave you with a lot of options in the tube amp territory. Most tube amps don't function well at low volume. Tiny Terror does the trick though. If you want clean tones, I'd suggest something like a Fender Blues Deluxe or Deluxe Reverb. If you want lots of gain, the Tiny Terror would be perfect. If you want both while living at an apartment, you may want to consider a solid state modeling amp like Fender Mustang or Line 6 Spider. Its all up to you, but I suggest trying a few different types to get the right feel for what you're looking for.

Oh, and welcome to the Forum!

That's about as open ended of a question as you can ask. With my 535, I have a whole bunch of different guitars, depending on whether it is plugged into my Patriot, DSL401, Classic 30, National Supreme, Guild Thunderbird, Peavey Transformer, or POD XT.

An amp is as much an "instrument" as the guitar. Guitar amps, as opposed to stereo amps, are designed to have a characteristic sound or color. So the first question to ask is what type of sound do you look for? Hi gain? Crisp Fender cleans? Driving sustain? Mellow jazz? Country chicken pickin?