Heritage Owners Club

My New 150CM Ultra Just Arrived - Not 100%

Hodbad

Hi there

So first of all I'm left handed, and English living in Switzerland so I just can't pop around the corner to the Heritage dealer to try out a selection of models, I had to trust on a variety of reviews, and buy online from the States. My overall opinion of the guitar is that it is a great instrument both in looks and playability. However there is one minor defect which jumped out at me as soon as I held it, the binding around the cutaway looks scrappy compared to the rest of the body. I'd be interested in your opinions, I'm pretty sure its not upto the standard Heritage normally put out, any ideas what has happended here, almost looks like it

was rectified some how, but I'm no expert.

One other thing is that I was under the impression (maybe wrongly) that the Ultra came with Gold Plated Hardware, this is obviously Nickel. Is there a definative spec for this model or do the specs change from time to time/. Ive figured out CM stands for Curly Maple but not sure what the Ultra title covers.

Anyway its a keeper and not going back over the pond. But would be grateful for your input.

Cheers

Mark

post-6692-0-76464800-1331468255_thumb.jpgpost-6692-0-10056900-1331468275_thumb.jpg

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

first off congratulations that is a beautiful guitar!!

the small wood coloured bit there looks like they either masked it too much before spraying, or took too much off with the scraper ( not sure if Heritage masks the binding or just scrapes off the finish with a razor blade after spraying? )

it is normal to have a visible seam there, as the maple cap comes down below the binding in the cutaway

so it could be touched up....whether I'd go to the trouble of shipping it all the way back or not, I don't know.

but if it is a new guitar the dealer should be prepared to do that, if you so wish!!